Dr. K. Chrysostomides & Co LLC
English Pусский 中文
print this page email this page
Cyprus-Lithuania double tax treaty enters into force
Area(s) of Practice: Taxation Law

On 21 June 2013, Cyprus signed and ratified a bilateral Agreement for the avoidance of double taxation with Lithuania, the provisions of which generally apply from 1 January 2015. The Agreement will enhance the development of trade and economic relations between Cyprus, Lithuania and other countries.

Pursuant to this Double Tax Treaty, dividend payments will not be subject to withholding tax provided that the recipient is a company which is the beneficial owner of the dividends and has a minimum direct holding of 10% of the capital of the company paying the dividends. The Treaty also provides for no withholding tax on interest payments and for a 5% withholding tax on royalty payments. Finally, the Treaty has provisions on the taxation of capital gains from the sale of shares.

The updating and expansion of the existing network of Double Tax Treaties is of high economic and political importance, and aims at promoting Cyprus as an international business centre by attracting foreign investment.

Back to Legal Updates
Copyright © 2011 Dr. K. Chrysostomides & Co LLC, All Rights Reserved.  |  Disclaimer Design & Development by BDigital  |  Powered by WebStudio